Kansas Homeschool Laws

Kansas Homeschool Laws & Requirements | How to Homeschool in Kansas | Lernsys Homeschooling

How do I homeschool in Kansas?

Kansas Homeschooling Laws

Kansas Homeschool Laws
View Our Lesson Demos

Homeschooling in Kansas

The law in Kansas treats homeschools as "private schools". To homeschool as a non-accredited private school in Iowa, parents need to observe the following regulations:

1. Register your private school
2. Select competent instructors
3. Teach for the required period
4. There are no required subjects (but see below what most schools teach)
5. Plan and schedule your instruction
6. Test your student periodically
Homeschooling laws in Kansas are easy to follow. Parents who choose to homeschool their children are afforded some freedoms such as: deciding the learning materials that will be used and the curriculum to be followed. The law does not provide for specific subjects that should be included in the curriculum or any standardized test that should be taken by the student. Parents are however advised to include the subjects taught in public schools in the homeschool program.

This page provides information on:

· Requirements to Homeschool in Kansas

· Registration of the Homeschool

· Recordkeeping for Homeschoolers in Kansas

· Requirements for Graduation in Kansas

· Switching from Homeschool to Public School


*This information is by no means intended as legal advice; its purpose is merely informational. It is each parent’s responsibility to get informed and understand the applicable homeschooling laws which regulate homeschooling in his or her state.

Requirements and Laws on Homeschooling in Kansas

The law in Kansas provides that children between 7 and 18 years of age must attend school, either public school, private school or a homeschool. The guidelines that must be observed while homeschooling include:

· Give a name and provide the address for the homeschool and have it registered with the Board of Education of the state.

· Maintain a copy of the registration

· The homeschool shall be registered as a private school that is non-credited

· Have a planned schedule for giving instruction

· The individual giving instruction must be competent

· Give instruction for 186 days

· Parents are advised to inform the former school of the intention to start homeschooling their student

While dealing with officials, it is recommended that the homeschool shall be referred to as a private school.

The law in Kansas does not give specific subjects that should be taught in schools. Most public schools offer the following subjects:

· Writing

· Spelling

· Geography

· Civil government

· Arithmetic

· US and Kansas history

· Health

· Hygiene

· English grammar and composition


Notice of Intent to Homeschool in Kansas

Homeschools in Kansas are registered as non-accredited private schools. The registration process involves filling a form with details of the homeschool including the name, custodian of the records and the location of the homeschool and mailing it to the board of education. The registration is a one-time process and there are no registration fees.


Recordkeeping for Homeschoolers in Kansas

In as much as it is not a requirement by law to maintain records, it is beneficial when creating homeschool transcripts, returning to public or private school after homeschooling, applying to colleges, universities, and workplaces, as well as the military. Some of the things parents should include in the homeschool portfolio are: attendance records, grades awarded, the students written work, etc.

Requirements for Graduation in Kansas

Homeschool parents in Kansas are free to set the graduation requirements for their student. Parents also determine if and when their student will graduate and are also able to award a high school diploma under their own terms. Parents are advised to consult with colleges the student may be interested in to know the requirements the child must meet so as to align the homeschool goals and curriculum with those requirements.

The chart below shows the comparison between graduation requirements in public school and homeschool in Kansas.

 Public/Private SchoolHomeschool

Diploma requirements in Kansas

To graduate, the student must complete 24 credits to be awarded a diploma in Kansas.

Parents in Kansas have the liberty to determine when their student will graduate. They then proceed to award the high school diploma under their own terms.

Testing requirements in Kansas Must take the ACT, SAT, ASVAB or ACT WorkKeys Test according to their post-high school plans

There is no law in Kansas that compels or forces homeschoolers to undertake a test as a requirement in order to graduate high school.

Kansas high school transcripts

Transcripts shall include particulars of the student, information on the attendance of the student, the totals of the credits taken, the test scores, a conclusive history of records that includes the grades awarded, the titles of the courses and the overall grade for each course taken.

Parents in Kansas can create the homeschoolers’ transcripts which may include information they considered relevant to institutions the homeschoolers may intend to apply to. This may include schools, colleges, workplace organizations, or the military.

High school course credits in Kansas

To graduate in Kansas, high school students must complete the following:

· 3 Science units

· 3.5 History And Government units

· 4 English Language Arts units

· 3 Math units

· 1 Fine Art unit

· Health

· 1 Practical Art unit

· 1 Physical Education unit

· 7 elective units

Many parents in Kansas choose to specify or assign academic credits to the courses taken during the homeschooling period as this may aid during the transcript creation process.

Eligibility for GED in Kansas

To take the Kansas GED test, you must meet the following eligibility requirements: At least 18 years of age or older. Kansas resident. Withdrawn from high school for a minimum of six months

Homeschoolers in Kansas are eligible if the meet the same criteria as public school students.


Homeschool High School Transcript Template

Track your homeschooler’s credits, courses, and accomplishments with this free homeschool high school transcript template.

Download the transcript template


Switching from Homeschooling to Public School in Kansas

Students who consider joining a public school after homeschooling must provide a detailed record of the homeschool program and activities undertaken. Public schools are not mandated to accept homeschool credits since homeschools are non-accredited. The school will require the student to take a placement test to determine which homeschool credits will be relied on to place the student in the appropriate grade level.

Lernsys Homeschooling makes it easy to keep a summary of the curriculum used including grades, topics covered, quiz and test scores, teacher credentials, etc.


Additional Resources Related to Homeschooling in Kansas

Have other questions about homeschooling in Kansas? You may find the following pages helpful.



Complete Homeschool Program

Experience the Lernsys Difference





Preset Color