Mississippi Homeschool Laws

Mississippi Homeschool Laws & Requirements | How to Homeschool in Mississippi | Lernsys Homeschooling

How do I homeschool in Mississippi?

Mississippi Homeschooling Laws

Mississippi Homeschool Laws
View Our Lesson Demos

Homeschooling in Mississippi

The law in Mississippi requires all children between 6 and 17 years of age to attend a compulsory education program; either in a public school, private school or a homeschool. Homeschools are commonly referred to as home study programs. Families who choose to homeschool their children are required to complete

1. File an annual certificate of enrollment

File an annual enrollment certificate with the officer in charge of attendance at the county as the only requirement to start a homeschool program.

2. Teacher qualifications, standardized testing requirements, required subjects, and days of instruction for homeschools in Mississippi

There are no requirements as to the qualification of the tutor, specific subjects that must be included, compulsory tests or the amount of time the instruction should be given.

Parents have the freedom and flexibility to choose the curriculum that will be used in the program. This page provides information on the following:

  • Enrollment Certificate
  • Recordkeeping for Homeschoolers in Mississippi
  • Requirements for Graduation
  • Switching from Homeschool to Public School


*This information is by no means intended as legal advice; its purpose is merely informational. It is each parent’s responsibility to get informed and understand the applicable homeschooling laws which regulate homeschooling in his or her state.

Requirements and Laws on Homeschooling in Mississippi

Enrollment Certificate

Each child being homeschooled must have an enrollment certificate. After obtaining the certificate, it should be submitted by the parent, legal guardian or the individual with custody of the child to the local attendance officer on or before 15th September every year. A copy of the certificate is usually made available by the attendance officer upon request. You can contact and request it from your local school. Parents must provide the following details while filling the form:

  • The name, phone number and physical address of the parent.
  • The parent’s signature
  • The name of the homeschool and a description of the instruction provided in the school
  • The name, age, phone number and address of the students in the homeschool
For students previously enrolled in a public school, their certificates shall be submitted within 15 days of commencing homeschooling


Notice of Intent to Homeschool in Mississippi

Refer to the Enrollment Certificate section above.


Recordkeeping for Homeschoolers in Mississippi

In as much as it is not a requirement by law to maintain records, it is beneficial when creating homeschool transcripts, returning to public or private school after homeschooling, identifying any instructional voids, applying to colleges, universities, and workplaces, as well as the military. Some of the things the parent should consider to include in the portfolio are: the subjects taught, grades awarded and the credits achieved by the student.

Requirements for Graduation in Mississippi

Homeschool parents in Mississippi are free to set the graduation requirements for their student. Parents also determine if and when their student will graduate and are also able to award a high school diploma under their own terms. Parents are advised to consult with colleges the student may be interested in to know the requirements the child must meet so as to align the homeschool goals and curriculum with those requirements.

The chart below shows the comparison between graduation requirements in public school and homeschool in Mississippi.

 Public/Private SchoolHomeschool

Diploma requirements in Mississippi

Each district in Mississippi has different requirements. Students are free to choose between the career path which requires 21 course credits and the traditional path which requires 24 course credits.

Parents in Mississippi have the liberty to determine when their student will graduate. They then proceed to award the high school diploma under their own terms.

Testing requirements in Mississippi The student must pass 4 subject area assessments for the subject area testing program(SATP)

There is no law in Mississippi that compels or forces homeschoolers to undertake a test as a requirement in order to graduate high school.

Mississippi high school transcripts

Schools make and maintain the transcripts on file.

Parents in Mississippi can create the homeschoolers’ transcripts which may include information they considered relevant to institutions the homeschoolers may intend to apply to. This may include schools, colleges, workplace organizations, or the military.

High school course credits in Mississippi

21 credit hours or 24 credit hours depending on the path the student chooses.

Many parents in Mississippi choose to specify or assign academic credits to the courses taken during the homeschooling period as this may aid during the transcript creation process.

Eligibility for GED in Mississippi

To take the Mississippi GED test, you must meet the following eligibility requirements: At least 18 years of age or older. Mississippi resident.

Homeschoolers in Mississippi are eligible if the meet the same criteria as public school students.


Homeschool High School Transcript Template

Track your homeschooler’s credits, courses, and accomplishments with this free homeschool high school transcript template.

Download the transcript template


Switching from Homeschooling to Public School in Mississippi

Students who consider joining a public school after homeschooling must provide a detailed record of the homeschool program and activities undertaken. Public schools are not mandated to accept homeschool credits since homeschools are non-accredited. The school will require the student to take a placement test to determine which homeschool credits will be relied on to place the student in the appropriate grade level.

Each school has different procedures and regulations to be observed while enrolling new students. It is the parent’s responsibility to consult with the school he/she chooses for the student to get the specific procedure on enrollment. Some schools may allow the parent to decide what grade the student should be placed while others may request homeschooling academic records for review. Other schools may require the student to take a placement test.

Lernsys Homeschooling makes it easy to keep a summary of the curriculum used including grades, topics covered, quiz and test scores, teacher credentials, etc.


Additional Resources Related to Homeschooling in Mississippi

Have other questions about homeschooling in Mississippi? You may find the following pages helpful.



Complete Homeschool Program

Experience the Lernsys Difference





Preset Color