Nevada Homeschool Laws

Nevada Homeschool Laws & Requirements | How to Homeschool in Nevada | Lernsys Homeschooling

How do I homeschool in Nevada?

Nevada Homeschooling Laws

Nevada Homeschool Laws
View Our Lesson Demos

Homeschooling in Nevada

Nevada homeschooling requirements are less strict than those of other jurisdictions. Homeschoolers are allowed to attend public school classes, get special educational services, and participate in extracurricular activities as well as sports. For the homeschooler to be allowed to participate in public school activities, the parent is required to file a form that serves as a notice of intention to take part in public school activities and programs. To start a homeschool, one is required to:

1. Submit a one-time notification of your intention to homeschool.

2. Teach the subjects that are mandatory.

Homeschoolers are not subjected to compulsory attendance or any standardized tests. Parents are free to homeschool according to their schedule; there is no requirement to homeschool on particular days or specific hours per day.

This page contains information on homeschool laws in Nevada including:

· Requirements to Homeschool in Nevada

· Notice of Intent to Homeschool

· Recordkeeping for Homeschoolers

· Requirements for Graduation in Nevada

· Switching from Homeschool to Public School

· $5, 000 Homeschool Fund

*This information is by no means intended as legal advice; its purpose is merely informational. It is each parent’s responsibility to get informed and understand the applicable homeschooling laws which regulate homeschooling in his or her state.

Requirements and Laws on Homeschooling in Nevada

To start homeschooling in Nevada, one must follow these 2 basic rules:

1. Submit a Letter of Intent to Homeschool

A one-time notification of your intention to homeschool must be submitted together with the Instructional Education Plan to the office of the local superintendent of the school district before starting the homeschool or within 10 days of starting the program but not later than 30 days. The only time one is required to file a new notice of intent is after changing identity or address. The new notice shall be submitted to the superintendent of local school within 30 days. The forms are provided by the Education Department of Nevada. The notice includes the following information:

· The name of the child, gender and age.

· The name of the parent and his/her address

· An instructional plan that is tailored to the child’s age and ability level. The plan shall including the mandatory subjects.

· The name of the public school previously attended, if any.

· A signed and dated declaration confirming that you are the child’s custodian and you have the legal authority to control his/her studies. A statement that you are fully responsible for the child’s education while receiving homeschool instruction.

· A statement preventing the release of details provided in the letter of notice is optional.

Upon receipt of your notice of intent, the superintendent responds with a letter to acknowledge the notice. This letter of acknowledgement should be maintained as evidence of your adherence to homeschooling laws.

2. Teach the required subjects

The instructional plan should be a broad overview of what you intend to teach the child. Parents cannot be denied a notice of intent if they have an instructional schedule for the mandatory subjects and so long as they have submitted a complete notice of intent.

The mandatory subjects include:

a) Mathematics

b) Social Studies (including geography, history, government and economics)

c) Science

d) English (which should include writing, composition and reading)


Notice of Intent to Homeschool in Nevada and Evaluation Records

If the student is currently enrolled in public school, it is advisable to notify the school in writing of your intention to homeschool in order to avoid truancy issues. Please refer to the section above dealing with the notice of intent (NOI).


Recordkeeping for Homeschoolers in Nevada

The following records must be maintained for students below 16 years:

· The student’s work samples.

· Assessment records which could be standardized tests or tests for specific subjects.

· A diary, schedule book or other document that shows the subjects covered and learning tasks accomplished. This can be done by maintaining a regular record of instructional hours.

Parents can keep other written materials or credible proof that is similar to the 3 forms mentioned above. At least two full years’ records must be well maintained for students in elementary school unless the homeschool is new. For secondary school students, the records must be maintained for the 4 years.

Requirements for Graduation in Nevada

Homeschool parents in Nevada are free to set the graduation requirements for their student. Parents also determine if and when their student will graduate and are also able to award a high school diploma under their own terms. Parents are advised to consult with colleges the student may be interested in to know the requirements the child must meet so as to align the homeschool goals and curriculum with those requirements.

The chart below shows the comparison between graduation requirements in public school and homeschool in Nevada.

 Public/Private SchoolHomeschool

Diploma requirements in Nevada

To graduate, the student must complete 24 units to be awarded a diploma in Nevada.

Parents in Nevada have the liberty to determine when their student will graduate. They then proceed to award the high school diploma under their own terms.

Testing requirements in Nevada The student must pass the end of course evaluation in the following units: English 2, Algebra 1, Government and Biology.

There is no law in Nevada that compels or forces homeschoolers to undertake a test as a requirement in order to graduate high school. Students may choose to undertake the EOC evaluations with the approval of the school district.

Nevada high school transcripts

Schools make and maintain the transcripts on file. Information on the credits earned from grade 9 to grade 12 must be included.

Parents in Nevada can create the homeschoolers’ transcripts which may include information they considered relevant to institutions the homeschoolers may intend to apply to. This may include schools, colleges, workplace organizations, or the military.

High school course credits in Nevada

Students who have completed 16 credits for a high school diploma and are 16 years old and above qualify to take the exam.

Many parents in Nevada choose to specify or assign academic credits to the courses taken during the homeschooling period as this may aid during the transcript creation process.

Eligibility for GED in Nevada

To take the Nevada GED test, you must meet the following eligibility requirements: At least 18 years of age or older. Nevada resident. Withdrawn from high school for a minimum of six months

Homeschoolers in Nevada are eligible if they meet the same criteria as public school students.

Homeschool High School Transcript Template

Track your homeschooler’s credits, courses, and accomplishments with this free homeschool high school transcript template.

Download the transcript template

Switching from Homeschooling to Public School in Nevada

Students in K-6 transferring to a public school may be required to take a test that determines the grade they will be placed according to age and ability. Middle school students will have their coursework reviewed and may undergo an assessment to determine their appropriate grade level.

For students in grade 9, a placement test determines the appropriate grade level they shall be placed. There are mandatory subjects that must be completed in grade 8 for students in public school to be promoted to grade 9. Parents are advised to consult with the local school on the mandatory subjects to ensure their children receive instruction on those subjects before grade 9.

High school students who transfer in the course of their first year or beyond may request the school to look into their coursework completed in the past to assess placement. The students may also take placement exams. Although the law allows schools to accept credits from non-accredited schools, there are some districts that refuse these credits and parents should be ready to deal with them.

Lernsys Homeschooling makes it easy to keep a summary of the curriculum used including grades, topics covered, quiz and test scores, teacher credentials, etc.


$5,000 Nevada Homeschool Funda

In 2015, a program on Nevada Education Saving Account was passed but has ceased to operate since it was not funded. The program was intended to cover fees for school, tuition fees, other authorized participating institutions, tutoring, textbooks, exam fees, etc. for the students who qualified for the fund. The requirements include being in a public school or must have attended a charter school for 100 days consecutively. Students who qualify would be subjected to annual standardized tests. These requirements are not welcomed by homeschoolers who have a lot of freedoms and are not required by law to take any standardized tests.


Additional Resources Related to Homeschooling in Nevada

Have other questions about homeschooling in Nevada? You may find the following pages helpful.




Complete Homeschool Program

Experience the Lernsys Difference





Preset Color