New Mexico Homeschool Laws

New Mexico Homeschool Laws & Requirements | How to Homeschool in New Mexico | Lernsys Homeschooling

How do I homeschool in New Mexico?

New Mexico Homeschooling Laws

New Mexico Homeschool Laws
View Our Lesson Demos

Homeschooling in New Mexico

Homeschooling laws in New Mexico are straight forward and easy to follow. The steps to follow while starting a homeschool are:

1. Submit a notice of intent to the superintendent of state within 30 days of beginning the home study program. For every year you intend to continue homeschooling, the notice shall be submitted by 1st August which shall include the details of the school district the homeschool is. The notification shall be addressed to:

New Mexico Department of Education

Attn: Home School Notification

300 Dor Gaspar

Santa Fe, NM 87501-2786

2. The individual providing instruction must have a diploma from high school or an equivalent such as a G.E.D.

3. Ensure the mandatory subjects are taught in the homeschool. The subjects include: math, science, social studies and language arts.

4. Give the instruction for a minimum of 180 days as public schools.

5. Keep records of the child’s immunization or obtain a waiver that exempts immunization for medical reasons or religious beliefs.

This page provides information on the rules to homeschool in New Mexico including:

· Requirements to Homeschool in New Mexico

· Registration of Homeschools in New Mexico

· Recordkeeping for Homeschoolers

· Requirements for Graduation

· Switching from Homeschool to Public School

*This information is by no means intended as legal advice; its purpose is merely informational. It is each parent’s responsibility to get informed and understand the applicable homeschooling laws which regulate homeschooling in his or her state.

Requirements and Laws on Homeschooling in New Mexico

All children between 5 and 18 years are subjected to compulsory school attendance by New Mexico laws. Additional requirements to homeschool in New Mexico include:

1. The adult in charge of providing instruction must be either the parent or the guardian with a copy of a diploma from high school or an equivalent such as a GED.

2. Submit a notice of intent to the superintendent of state within 30 days of beginning the home study program.

3. For every year you intend to continue homeschooling, the notice shall be submitted by 1st August

4. Ensure the mandatory subjects are taught in the homeschool. The subjects include: math, science, social studies and language arts.

5. Give the instruction for a minimum of 180 days.

6. Keep records of the child’s immunization.

Homeschool parents choose the instructional materials to be used in the homeschool. They are also allowed to borrow text books used in public schools since they are not provided by the state so long as they oblige with the rules. Homeschoolers who qualify are allowed to participate in activities and events sponsored by public schools. The requirements to participate are stipulated by the office of the local superintendent.


Registration of Homeschools in New Mexico

To start a homeschool program one has to notify the state first by completing an online form which can be submitted electronically or printed out and sent via mail. The form must reach the state’s education department within 30 days of starting the program. For every year that the homeschool is ongoing, the notice shall be submitted by 1st August as a way of re-registering the homeschool.


Recordkeeping for Homeschoolers in New Mexico

The following records must be maintained for students below 16 years:

· The student’s work samples.

· Assessment records which could be standardized tests or tests for specific subjects.

· A diary, schedule book or other document that shows the subjects covered and learning tasks accomplished. This can be done by maintaining a regular record of instructional hours.

Parents can keep other written materials or credible proof that is similar to the 3 forms mentioned above. At least two full years’ records must be well maintained for students in elementary school unless the homeschool is new. For secondary school students, the records must be maintained for the 4 years.

Requirements for Graduation in New Mexico

Homeschoolers are not awarded a state diploma as their counter parts from public schools. The laws in New Mexico do not provide for the requirements to graduate, students can therefore choose any of the options below:

  • A Credential Equivalent to a High School Diploma – this may be a GED (General Education Development Test) or the HiSET (High School Equivalent Test)
  • High School Equivalence Certificate or a Non New Mexico Diploma – this is awarded to students who graduate through a home study program, distance learning or correspondence course.
  • A Homeschool Diploma –this is a diploma awarded by the parent after being satisfied that the student has met the homeschool graduation requirements decided by the parent.

Some diplomas are rejected by colleges and universities. Parents should do prior research to know the requirements to join a college or university his/her child may consider applying to after high school. A student who has passed the GED may receive the Legislative Lottery Scholarship in New Mexico that partially assists in college fee.

The chart below shows the comparison between graduation requirements in public school and homeschool in New Mexico.

 Public/Private SchoolHomeschool

Diploma requirements in New Mexico

To graduate, the student must complete 25 credits to be awarded a diploma in New Mexico.

Parents in New Mexico have the liberty to determine when their student will graduate. They then proceed to award the high school diploma under their own terms.

Testing requirements in New Mexico Students are required to demonstrate competency as required by the Public Education Department. For an accurate listing of ways students may demonstrate competency, please refer to the Public Education Department.

There is no law in New Mexico that compels or forces homeschoolers to undertake a test as a requirement in order to graduate high school. Students may choose to undertake the EOC evaluations with the approval of the school district.

New Mexico high school transcripts

Schools make and maintain the transcripts on file. Information on the credits earned from grade 9 to grade 12 must be included.

Parents in New Mexico can create the homeschoolers’ transcripts which may include information they considered relevant to institutions the homeschoolers may intend to apply to. This may include schools, colleges, workplace organizations, or the military.

High school course credits in New Mexico

Twenty-five (25) credits are required for graduation. The credits will be distributed as follows:

English: 4.0 credits

Mathematics: 4.0 credits

Social Studies: 3.5 credits

  • U.S History and Geography (1.0)
  • World History and Geography (1.0)
  • Government (0.5)
  • Economics (0.5)
  • New Mexico History (0.5)

Science: 3.0 credits
*All credits must have a laboratory component.

Physical Education: 1.0 credit

Health: 0.5 credit

Electives:  8.0 credits

Career or Workplace Readiness or Language other than English: 1.0

Many parents in New Mexico choose to specify or assign academic credits to the courses taken during the homeschooling period as this may aid during the transcript creation process.

Eligibility for GED in New Mexico

To take the New Mexico GED test, you must meet the following eligibility requirements: At least 18 years of age or older. New Mexico resident. Withdrawn from high school for a minimum of six months

Homeschoolers in New Mexico are eligible if they meet the same criteria as public school students.


Homeschool High School Transcript Template

Track your homeschooler’s credits, courses, and accomplishments with this free homeschool high school transcript template.

Download the transcript template


Switching from Homeschooling to Public School in New Mexico

The board of the school determines appropriate grade levels for new students by considering the age of the student or the score achieved after taking the State Achievement Test. Policies made by the board of the local school determine whether the homeschool credits will be accepted or rejected. Parents are required to submit a written notice to the Education Secretary as a notification to end the homeschool program on the student.

Lernsys Homeschooling makes it easy to keep a summary of the curriculum used including grades, topics covered, quiz and test scores, teacher credentials, etc.


Additional Resources Related to Homeschooling in New Mexico

Have other questions about homeschooling in New Mexico? You may find the following pages helpful.



Complete Homeschool Program

Experience the Lernsys Difference





Preset Color