Oregon Homeschooling Laws
To legally homeschool in Oregon, one must observe the following:
1. Submit your notification letter (NOI) to the education service district of Oregon
2. Ensure the students are tested in 3rd, 5th, 8th and 10th grades
3. Have any disabilities addressed.
Homeschooling in Oregon is considered easy and straight-forward; complying with the rules ensures your child is not forced to enroll in a public school. Parents choose the curriculum to be used in the homeschool including the subjects and programs the students will undertake. The type of mandatory tests in grades 3, 5, 8 and 10 for homeschool students are not specified by the state; parents have the freedom to choose the test which must be approved by the education board of Oregon and administered by a neutral third party approved by the state.
This page provides information on the homeschooling laws of Oregon including:
· Requirements to Homeschool in Oregon
· Notice of Intent to Homeschool in Oregon
· Recordkeeping for Homeschoolers
· Requirements for Graduation
· Switching from Homeschool to Public School
*This information is by no means intended as legal advice; its purpose is merely informational. It is each parent’s responsibility to get informed and understand the applicable homeschooling laws which regulate homeschooling in his or her state.
Requirements and Laws on Homeschooling in Oregon
The following guidelines must be observed to successfully homeschool in Oregon:
1. File a one-time application of your notice of intent to homeschool with the Education Service District (ESD).
2. Ensure the student completes approved standardized tests of your choice in 3rd, 5th, 8th and 10th grades.
- Address any disabilities the child might have by having an optional assessment of the child’s academic progress. This step is optional.
Notice of Intent and Testing Requirements to Homeschool in Oregon
Parents must submit the notice of intent to homeschool to the education service of the local district within 10 days of commencing the home study program or no later than 10 days after official withdrawal of the child from the previous school.
The notice must have the following information:
· The names, ages and addresses of each child in the homeschool program.
· The name of the local school in your district or the previous school every child in the homeschool attended, if any.
A receipt to show acknowledgment from the ESD should be sent to you in 90 days counting from the date of your notice.
2. Testing Requirements in Oregon
Every student in the homeschool must undertake a standardized test in 3rd, 5th, 8th and 10th grades by 15th August of that school year and not later than 1st September. The state assumes that children in 1st grade are 7 years old but parents are allowed to test the students earlier if they think the child has successfully completed instruction in 3rd, 5th, 8th and 10th grades. The test must be approved by the state and administered by a tester who is also approved by the state. The scores are awarded by the tester who submits the results to the parent for safe keeping. The results shall only be submitted to the superintendent of schools upon request.
3. Addressing any disability the child may have (optional)
It is optional to have your child assessed for adequate academic progress following the recommended individualized method of instruction that works best for the child or a personalized plan.
Recordkeeping for Homeschoolers in Oregon
Parents are required to maintain a detailed record of the homeschool including:
- A detailed report and samples of instructional materials
- A duplicate of the calendar
- Demonstration that the specified subjects are covered
- Evidence of the compulsory annual tests
- Details of the evaluation methods used
Parents are not required by law to keep portfolios but they may choose to maintain the records which come in handy later while making transcripts, helping in evaluating the child’s progress and as a treasured keepsake of the moments spent together learning. The student may take part in this by choosing the projects and samples of written work they like to be included in the portfolio. The page on Homeschool Portfolios provides more information on making portfolios.
Requirements for Graduation in Oregon
The state of Oregon does not provide for any requirements for homeschoolers to graduate; parents make and decide the rules for their homeschool program. Parents and students make their own rules depending on future plans the student may have after high school and the goals of the homeschool program. Families are advised, however, to follow the requirements stipulated for public school students in Oregon. High school diplomas are awarded by the parents unlike for public school students who receive their diplomas from the education department of the state.
The chart below shows the comparison between graduation requirements in public school and homeschool in Oregon.
Diploma requirements in Oregon
To receive a diploma in Oregon, a minimum of 24 credit courses must be completed.
Parents in Oregon have the liberty to determine when their student will graduate. They then proceed to award the high school diploma under their own terms.
|Testing requirements in Oregon||N/A. 40 hours (10 per year) of community service may be required.||
There is no law in Oregon that compels or forces homeschoolers to undertake a test as a requirement in order to graduate high school.
Oregon high school transcripts
Students can choose to contact their school or use E-transcript system to submit a duplicate of the student’s transcript to the college they wish to join. Unless prices are offset, there is a reasonable charge.
Parents in Oregon can create the homeschoolers’ transcripts which may include information they considered relevant to institutions the homeschoolers may intend to apply to. This may include schools, colleges, workplace organizations, or the military.
High school course credits in Oregon
|The following course credits must be completed by the student: 3 Sciences including Chemistry and Biology, career and tech instruction or Physics, 3 Math including Geometry, Algebra 1 and 2,and Statistics Probability, 3.5 Social Studies(History of the world, the US, Geography, Economics and Government and Citizenship), Language Arts, Physical education, Art and 7 electives.||
Many parents in Oregon choose to specify or assign academic credits to the courses taken during the homeschooling period as this may aid during the transcript creation process.
Eligibility for GED in Oregon
English Language Arts - 4
Mathematics - 3
Science - 3
Second Language - 3
Health - 3
Physical Ed - 3
Electives - 6
Social Sciences - 3
Homeschoolers in Oregon are eligible if the meet the same criteria as public school students.
Homeschool High School Transcript Template
Track your homeschooler’s credits, courses, and accomplishments with this free homeschool high school transcript template.
Switching from Homeschooling to Public School in Oregon
It is the responsibility of the homeschooling parent to inquire from the local school district on the requirements and procedures to be followed in enrolling a new student. Every district has different procedures and rules on reviewing the records and transcripts of the child in determining if, what and how many credits can be given.
Lernsys Homeschooling makes it easy to keep a summary of the curriculum used including grades, topics covered, quiz and test scores, teacher credentials, etc.
Additional Resources Related to Homeschooling in Oregon
Have other questions about homeschooling in Oregon? You may find the following pages helpful.